BIOGRAPHY: The Profile of the 2019 Gubernatorial Candidate of Bayelsa State

Senator Heineken Lokpobiri is among one of the All Progressive Congress (APC) guber candidate for the upcoming election in Bayelsa State.

See his complete profile;

Senator Heineken Lokpobiri was born on March 3, 1967 in Ekeremor LGA of Bayelsa State.



He completed his secondary education at Government Secondary School Borokiri, Port Harcourt in1988.

He studied law at the Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt and was called to Baras a Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of Nigeria in 1995.

He proceeded to Leeds Beckett University in Leeds, United Kingdom where he bagged a Masters Degree in Law (LLM) in 2012 and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in 2016.

Other courses he recently attended include:The Oxford High Performance Leadership Programme of the University of Oxford in November 2012; Programme on United States Election System –International Law Institute, Georgetown University Washington, D. C in April 2014 and Executive – Legislature Relations & Effective Legislative performance – Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University, Washington D. C – April 2014.


READ ALSO  Biography of Sir (Dr.) Nkasiobi Silas Oguzor



Senator Lokpobiri began his political career at the state level, where he represented Ekeremor Constituency II and was elected Speaker of the Bayelsa State House of assembly in 1999.

From 2003 to 2007, he was a Principal Legal Director at Lokpobiri and Co (Legal Practitioners and Consultants) and also served as a member of the Board of Directors of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN).

Senator Lokopbiri represented Bayelsa West in the 6th National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and served as Chairman, Senate Committee on Sports and Social Development and member, Committees on Niger Delta, Police Affairs, Federal Capital Territory, Petroleum (Down Stream) and Public Accounts 2007 – 2011.

He was re-elected to represent Bayelsa West Senatorial District in the Senate of the 7th National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and was Chairman, Senate Committee on Water Resources; and member, Committees on Sports, Industries, Ethics & Privileges, Petroleum (Up Stream) and Niger Delta Affairs from 2007 – 2015.

He was appointed Minister of State, Agriculture and Rural development on November 11, 2015.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular


Copyright ©2019 Gist Reporters Media.

To Top